Polite Company

January 15 ~ Polite Company

Socrates teaching Pericles and others, painted by Nicolas Guibal

It’s never a good idea to discuss religion or politics with people you don’t really know.” Agree or disagree?

I can somewhat agree and disagree. I usually will start the conversation if the other person instigates it. I like to discussion religion more than politics mainly because I am more interested in spirituality and the philosophy that goes with it and not politics which I somewhat follow.

I find that I learn more when I’m discussing religion because it brings in so many other factors to consider that I may have overlooked. To find out and learn what it means to others and how they understand it, I feel that I helps put religious philosophy into more than one dimension. My experiences change the meanings of words that I read, change the meaning behind religious verses; than someone how is indoctrinated from a young age, or a spiritualist, or a yogi even. I find it stimulating and fun. I generally look at it logically, since I am not well versed to make a proper religious argument but it nonetheless helps you understand and learn.

One thought on “Polite Company

Leave a Reply

