Step Forward

IMG_6106The robust way we started January with new years resolutions and thoughts of a new you might be wearing thin right about now. Although I already posted my thoughts on what your resolutions should be this year, you might have more concrete resolutions that you are trying to maintain. February is a classic time for when your resolve might be waining with the season of chocolate, full on winter and lack of exciting holidays.

For me, this time of the year is proving to be the most lost I ever felt. I feel directionless even though I have direction. In an attempt to get myself back on track, I’ve been going over in my mind on how to stay motivated and focused.

Here are three tips that helped me get into the groove. Let me know in the comments what works for you in maintaining your motivation and/or focus.

Make a list. Making a list might feel too type-A personality, but lists can be magical. When you feel like you don’t have anything going on, make a list. Without realizing it, you will end up writing down more than what you thought about things you need to do and want to do. Looking at the things you need and want to do will help you decide on how you want to spend your time and might give you the kick that you need to get going on your projects. Just make sure you know how to prioritize your list. Don’t get caught up on all the “wants” on your list with the things you “need” to do. As awesome as knitting a scarf for your cat is and organizing your iTunes library with all the coolest 90s R&B music, maybe looking for internships or paying your visa bill might be more important.

Start planning your year. As someone who is way too scared of making a 5-year plan and 10-year plans, hear me out ’cause this is a good idea. Planning your year in rough draft is an amazing way to make sure that you make time for the things that matter to you. Want to make sure you go on that vacation? Put it in your calendar so you will make the proper arrangements on time. Going back to school in the Fall? Put the dates in so you know when to be prepared for orientation. Want to run in a marathon? Well, look up which one you want to run in so you can start training on time.

At first, I was petrified of the idea of planning because it sets up expectations and when things don’t happen on time, it sets in feelings of failure and just makes you depressed. However, if done right, it can be an amazing way to fulfill all your goals. At the moment, I made a 6-month plan; a year is a long shoot, but planning my upcoming 6 months feels comfortable and doable.

Using positive motivating images/quotes. I’m a very visual person and seeing motivating images sometimes does the trick. Rosie (picture below) usually does the trick for me. Whenever I felt like I couldn’t continue something back when I was in England, I would look up and she would be there to say, “nah yo, you got this!” Along with images, quotes can have an equally motivated feeling.

 How do you stay motivated and focus when you start to get lazy?

2 thoughts on “Step Forward

Leave a Reply

