2017 Already?

Oh man! It has been a while since I blogged! Last post was in November 2015??? Gosh, so much as happened since then! I guess now is a good time to get up to speed with everything.

I got called to the bar! I don’t know/remember if I mentioned this, but I am a full fledged lawyer now. Which is kinda crazy, you know. My late night study sessions and melt downs all paid off and it has been an interesting ride. I don’t feel fully qualified sometimes to be doing what I do, but I do enjoy it, I think. lol For the past month, I was riding solo in the firm that I work with since the senior lawyer was away so that’s when the responsibility really hit the fan and I was the one in-charge to call the shots. It was both exciting and terrifying. Let’s see what this journey holds for me.

I got married! Yup, it happened. It was traditional with the wonderful North American twist of arranged-marriage. As I was studying for the bar and getting my training done, the parentals in all their South-Asian glory felt that I was aging faster than the moldly mold and that I must have a life partner ASAP. I had left it on my parents to find me someone because a) ain’t nobody got time for that; b) I, myself, was not having amazing luck finding someone on my own; c) having the parents find someone meant that they did all the research for me ex. background, education, family so really my job was only to see if I liked the guy and d) I was too lazy to find someone with the dating culture in place right now, it’s such a mess. Well, after searching and searching, I found a guy I liked. In the motherland of all places. Needless to say, in the mix of studying stress I was a wedding planning mess, but it worked out. On one hand, I finished up my studies and packed up to go get married and enjoy a two month vacay. A pretty good deal, right?

I am…..expecting. Yup, the mother of all surprise. Was the pun included in that? I don’t know but it worked. It hasn’t registered completely even though I’m almost near the end but I think I’m processing it like I processed my pending nuptials: subdued excitement. I’m a lil dull like that but I don’t think I can be one of those hyper excited individuals. So far, very few people know and I like it that way.

Life right now is going with the flow. I think that’s something I really tried to grasp and add to my life mottos this past 2016. Going with the flow and letting go of the stuff I do not have control over. Wedding planning def helped me come to terms with this one and I’m happy to have this motto carry over post the planning and into my life now. There is no need to get “stuck”. The positive is that at least 90 or 99% of what’s happening is going the way I would want it.

Let’s look at it with the glass half full mentality, since life gets much more smoother that way.

One thought on “2017 Already?

  1. Oh My God !!
    This post was like a roller coaster, though it was only going up and never came down :p
    Congrats, and congrats, and congrats again three times over. I never would have imagined so much happening in so short a time. I thought it happened only in India ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜›
    Or maybe the time really wasn’t that short and this is just how life happens.
    Anyways, Many many congratulations and all the best for the future. Hope to read more about the updates soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

